The blogging experience (19/52)

Some of you  who read my occasional blogs,  may wonder what the numbers in the title stand for?  Well, at the beginning of the year, my daughter took a decision to write a daily blog. I was writing an occasional one, and my reaction to her decision was “wow, that is a tough one and  best of luck”. And then,  I thought, can I do at least one a week?

As we just pass the half way point in the year, here is the report card. While I am at 19, and should have been on 25th or 26th, Mukta has stuck to her resolve and only violated occasionally by posting past the midnight hour!! I salute her for that, as she posts her daily blog even while on her first holiday with Rahul, without the kids. And as I sit at her desk ( I am babysitting the children along with their Dadi), I am trying to analyze why i have not matched my own target!

Lack of ideas? No, thats not it. Through the day as I read the paper, surf the net, move around the city and interact with people, I often think “Ah! this is something I should write about”. I even start some, but do not finish it.

Am I too busy? That cannot be it as I have no major work commitment.

General lack of resolve? That is part of it, as there is no specific audience or special group I am targeting and I am writing on random thoughts based on nostalgia and personal experience. So, every now and then, the thought does cross my mind “I seem to be doing it for myself” and so then “why do it?”

Specific theme related blogging probably serves a purpose and builds a following over time, which then serves as its own motivating factor. So, should i stick to a specific theme? What should it be? Have been pondering on that one and may get around to it in time.

But, what I have realized is that what I enjoy is the process of developing a sentence, correcting the grammar, presenting a style, in short the process of writing itself. As an academic, i was always involved in this process while writing my own manuscripts, correcting manuscripts of students and colleagues, editing manuscripts for journals, publishers etc… As this  decreased substantially after retirement a couple of years ago, I think i may have started the blog as a writing exercise.

So, if i like to write and have the ideas, why am i behind on my blogging target? I think it is because i am essentially an introvert!! When it comes to the crux of the matter, the honest innermost thoughts and opinions are hard to express. And so what i start, stays unfinished as it is hard to complete without seeming either dishonest or hypocritical. But having opened up this far, i need to take the next step get to the heart of the issue. So, this is my earnest effort to catch up and try and meet that target!!

One thought on “The blogging experience (19/52)

  1. You’re so interesting! I don’t suppose I’ve read through anything
    like that before. So good to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject.

    Really.. thank you for starting this up.
    This web site is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with a little
    originality!

Leave a Reply

