Fulfilling a long time dream – to Kailash and Mansarovar (34/52)

It was exhilarating, it was humbling, it was exhausting – but the sense of satisfaction and fulfillment in achieving something that you have wanted to do for a long time is something unique! The yatra to Kailash-Mansarovar, a trip of a lifetime,  will remain a part of me for the rest of my life.

When did this keeda enter my head and why? I have wanted to do this  trip for the last 2 decades – i think the keeda was planted by some account I read back then. In the 90s,  it was the time factor, the finances (it was always an expensive affair), then work and so on…. And then post-2002, it dropped off my agenda altogether. I am not sure how it crept back in – probably was always there somewhere at the back of my mind! So, when I applied for a slot this March in the Ministry of External Affairs organized yatra, I think people were a bit surprised. Especially  so, as I am not known to be a ‘religious’ person and definitely not the usual ‘yatra’ goer.  Some suggested that I should go with the private operators – a suggestion I did not pay much heed to. I did not just want to to complete the Kailash Parikrama and dip in Manas to be reborn washed of all my sins. I wanted  to walk through the Himalayas, along the route that Adi Shankara had taken more than 10 centuries ago, enjoy the solitude and breathe in the beauty. The rest was the bonus……

Well, its been over 2 weeks since i got back – and I have recovered from the creaks and protests from my body. But I did have to drive myself to get into the daily humdrum of life and  finally, I have uploaded the photos – but am struggling to put the experience into words.

Because frankly, words cannot convey the absolute beauty and serenity of Manas and the grandeur and wonder of Kailash!!

The beautiful trails of the Upper Himalayas
The first sighting of Kailash
Kailash close up
And the serene Manas

So, this is a small sneak preview. I shall post in the coming days on the details ………

Leave a Reply

