This year in reading

2013 is drawing to an end – and  this year’s reading tally is 60 books (as against 32 in 2012). There were some book centric highlights during the year.  Mid-way through the year,  I took the  membership of the British Council Library.  A good library membership is great for a compulsive reader like me – this year one third of the 60 books I read were from BCL. Of course, there is a certain Commonwealth bias to their collection and it is a pity that we do not have access to a public library system. The membership ensured that I could have a selection of books at hand without crowding my already crowded book shelves at home.

The other special feature of the year was that I started to buy e-books – my earlier reading on e-device was from some .mobi files that I had got from a friend. This year both Flipkart and Amazon made it easier (and cheaper than the printed version) for us to download the books of our choice. And although still not my first option – every now and then, I have bought a book. However, i was always reading both e- and paper book simultaneously – and I always finished the paper one earlier. I am not sure, whether it reflects a prefarance or was it chance?

I also started using Goodreads to keep track of  my list. Of course,I have not abandoned my physical list – but Goodreads provides  a short summary of the story.  This is a very useful aid, as I find it hard to retain the name of books, authors and the story line. However, I seem to have clicked some button which has linked it to FB – and so everyone knows what I’m reading or want to!! Not too keen on this, but cannot find a way to delink.

The list of  60 has been varied – fiction, non-fiction, popular, historical etc. In spite of intentions to the contrary the non-fiction to fiction ratio was 13 to 76 – but some of the best books I read were from the non-fiction genre. “The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks” by Rebecca Skoot, which I have already written about was highly readable. More recently, ‘The mapmaker’s wife” by Robert Whitaker combined two of my favorite genres – travel and history. This is the remarkable story of a grand middle aged Peruvian lady, who traveled thousands of miles through the jungles down the Amazon to meet her husband in the mid-18th century. Thubron’s ‘Shadow of the Silk Road’ and ‘To a mountain in TIbet’ I would recommend to anyone who enjoys travel writing. And finally, Rushdie’s ‘Joseph Anton’ was readable and revealing – the details and extent to which the UK system went to provide him protection was revealing. Especially in light of our responses in such situations! I’d also recommend Lizzie Collingham’s ‘Curry’ ( a very well told tale of the history of Indian cooking) and David Quammer’s ‘The Kiwi’s egg’ (about the years Darwin spent between the end of the voyage on the Beagle in 1836  and the publication of his theory of natural selection in 1859).

Among the fiction, I read Eli Shafak, Alex Rutherford, MG Vassanji, Jaina Sanga, Indira Goswani, Sylvia Plath and many others. New releases by  authors that I had read before and proved disappointing include Khaled Hosseini’s ‘And the mountain echoed’, Shafak’s ‘The flea palace’, and Gunasekara’s “The prisoner of Paradise’.   Shafak’s ‘Shame’, Vassanji’s ‘The magic of Saida’, Plath’s ‘Bell Jar’, Mohsin Hamid’s ‘The reluctant fundamentalist’ were  among the more memorable books I read. And, I cannot end without special mention of JM Coetzee, whose every book (and I read 4 of them) was a delight.

But, I am afraid that among a host of good books, there is not one that I would call outstanding or memorable and I would want to read again!!!  I look forward to the coming year and hope that the ‘un-put-downable’ book is the next one I will pick up!!

Leave a Reply

