New Year Resolutions

This is definitely the App era. However,  the modern ‘era’ is super short, as against our conventional understanding of the term, and so I’m not sure how long this will last!  I see that the drone is the No1 innovation of 2014, and I may have missed the ‘year of the APP’ !! But it is the flavor of the day, even my 6 year old granddaughter is as familiar with the App store as see she is with her “Frozen’ characters. And there are  Apps  for everything from weight tracking, calorie tracking, fitness tracking, chores tracking …….. and probably an App for keeeping track of the Apps.

And today I learn  that there are Apps – Goal Tracker, Free New Year’s Resolutions and so on –  to keep track of your New Year’s resolutions.  It’s a bit funny, because the single most unachieved, dumped on the wayside target anyone sets for him or herself, is probably the New Year resolution (NYR). Largely because, by their very nature they are unachievable. If it was something that was easy to do, you would have done it, right?

I’m not even tempted to download these Apps and check them out – because the NYR game is something I gave up a long time ago.  There would be semi-serious discussions and gentle leg pulling around the  traditional New Year party in the Department (it not being a Government holiday, I worked on most New Years) – in which I was not an active participant.

And now I’m at the stage in life when there is no pressure of any kind to make New Year resolutions. I neither need to achieve a weight target, or a jogging target or any other target. I would occasionally set myself reading targets, such as the one last year to try and read as much non-fiction as fiction. But this was only a loose kind of target, which needs no Apps to track! And this year I’m not even setting myself that – because the only general objective in life is to de-stress. I really feel bad for people who add to their already stressed life, the additional stress of a synthetic voice or alarm reminding you of what you need to do, what you have failed to do etc…. Is it just that people are missing the ‘nagging’ of parents and spouses?

Of course, the usual non-target based resolutions are there as always – try to maintain the general fitness level, try and err on side of give in the general give and take equation, and an additional one for this year – spare the environment as much as possible on a day to day basis. I started to segregate waste and compost my kitchen waste this year, and in the year ahead I will look for fresh ways in which I can decrease my carbon footprints on planet earth.

So these are the parting thoughts for 2014, and a great less-stressed 2015 to all of you.

One thought on “New Year Resolutions

Leave a Reply

